April showers bring….May BLOCKBUSTERS!

It’s the most wonderful time of the year…. summer movie season. The time of year when the weather outside is delightful, but we’d rather cram into dark theatres with air conditioning on at full blast, and sit uncomfortably close to a few hundred strangers to watch the latest and greatest summer blockbuster.

Summer_2013

May 2013 is packed with a really interesting mix of star power, sequels and duds. Here’s what I’m looking forward to…

 Iron Man 3 (May 3)
Robert Downey Jr. is Tony Stark…again…
I’m really looking forward to the latest entry in the Iron Man franchise. Marvel and the creative geniuses who’ve taken the helm of these films, have taken a comic book superhero in which I had no interest, and made a successful, fun and incredibly entertaining franchise. Coming off the success of the Avengers, with a new director (Shane Black of Kiss Kiss Bang Bang fame) and Ghandi Sir Ben Kingsley as the villainous Mandarin, Iron Man 3 promises to kick-off the summer movie season with a bang [cue obligatory AC/DC track….].

 
The Great Gatsby (May 10)
I’ve already mentioned that I’m extremely excited for The Great Gatsby (“The Curious Case of Leo DiCaprio”: http://wp.me/p3pq8p-4). I’m a huge fan of Baz Luhrmann’s films, including Moulin Rouge, Romeo + Juliet, and Strictly Ballroom. I especially love his frantic camera work, luxurious sets and great musical sensibility. The soundtrack to this film will be amazing, featuring Beyoncé, Andre 3000, Florence Welch, Fergie, Lana Del Rey and Jay Z. The Great Gatsby also features a stellar cast, including Leonardo DiCaprio, Carey Mulligan, Joel Edgerton, Tobey Maguire (not a big fan of his voice…or face), and Bollywood royalty Amitabh Bachchan. I’m excited to see a new take on a story that I love.

 
Star Trek Into Darkness (May 17)
Although I’m not a Trekkie, I can’t wait for the next installment of J.J Abrams’ Star Trek series. I love the way J.J. Abrams tells his stories, and I’m a big fan of his first Star Trek venture. The cast of the first film is back, with the extremely easy on the eyes Chris Pine, Zoe Saldana, Zachary Quinto, Karl Urban, John Cho, Anton Yelchin and Simon Pegg reprising their roles. The addition of Benedict Cumberbatch (BBC’s Sherlock…and seriously… greatest name ever….) as the villain is an interesting choice that I fully support. Filming was “cloaked” in heavy secrecy and the second film is expected to take on a much darker tone. Hopefully the sequel retains the same chemistry, humour and great storytelling of the first.

 
Fast and Furious 6 (May 24)
I admit it…. the Fast and the Furious franchise is a guilty pleasure for me. Except for 2 Fast 2 Furious…which was 2 dumb and 2 stupid…even by Fast and Furious standards.  I really enjoyed the random and unbelievable action in the fifth installment in the series. I’m looking forward to more unintentionally hilarious stand-offs between Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Vin “Mumbles” Diesel. Oh….and Paul Walker’s “acting”. Really….I don’t expect much from these films, but they’re a good time, and I’m sure that there will be a huge cliff hanger leading to Fast and Furious Seventeen: Cars in Space.


The Hangover Part III (May 24)
The first installment of The Hangover movies was an absolute riot. I can watch it over and over again and still find it hilarious. The second one….not so much. Where The Hangover’s success can be derived from it being a hilarious surprise, The Hangover II failed by re-hashing the same jokes and story as its extremely successful predecessor. The trailer for The Hangover III already looks more impressive than The Hangover II, in that there’s an actual plot. That being said, my expectations are low. These characters are those friends from university that you can’t wait to party with, but never want to see the morning after. I’m looking forward to seeing the wolfpack on the loose again.


Before Midnight
(May 24)
This is probably the most “indie” of all of the films that I’ve listed for my May Blockbuster list. I really enjoyed the first two films in this series (Before Sunset and Before Sunrise). They’re cute, quirky and romantic in a way that you wish real life could be.


After Earth (May 31)
Picture this…the Fresh Prince of Bel-Air and his mini-me…in space. Intrigued? I am. Will Smith plays the exact same character in almost every movie he stars in (not that I’m complaining), I’m looking forward to what looks like a cross between the Hunger Games and Avatar. I could do without the accents though.


Now You See Me
(May 31)
You guys. Let’s cast Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine, Woody Harrelson, Mark Ruffalo, Jesse Eisenberg, that other Franco (Dave Franco), Isla Fisher and Melanie Laurent in the same movie. A pretty great listing of talent eh?! Now we need a story that could accommodate all of these people…. how about….an international heist movie? Sounds good. It gets better…lets add…MAGICIANS! As ridiculous as the premise for this movie is, I’m most likely going to see it for the actors involved. It can’t be worse than the Incredible Burt Wonderstone…can it?

 
After the onslaught of May releases, you’d think that Hollywood would run out of stories to tell. Forget that … A new month means new movies – some epics (Man of Steel) and some garbage (The Internship). I’ll revisit these as the summer movie season continues. As the late, great Roger Ebert used to say: “see you at the movies”….actually…see you in the unreasonably long line-up to get into these movies…

Leave a Reply

